top of page
Search
  • hollybolly81

Final Push

It's the day after we got our last appraisal grades, and I don't mind saying I was very upset with what I got. I felt like all this work I've been putting in- pushing myself to do work every single day, making sure that my Uni days are already planned out so that I don't waste a second of it, constantly trying to come up with new ideas- has just been a bit of a waste. I want to be improving, not getting worse and worse. Especially now that our next assessment is our VERY LAST ONE. EVER.


However, like I said it's the next day and I've had time to reflect.

Luckily, I don't think appraisal marks are really recorded, therefore it won't bring down my average in my hopes of getting a first at the end (this will be a question that I ask in our tutorial on Thursday, fingers crossed). A lot of the comments were to do with the fact that I didn't include the information of why I chose those particular insects, or what artists I looked into*, which I left out purposefully, as I felt like I've been repeating myself all year and I didn't want a comment like "you've already told us this in your last assessment". In hindsight, that was stupid.

I'm hoping that with these corrections, and the new film pieces I have made, I'll be able to bump up my mark in time for the final hand-in.


We have also been informed that our degree show is online this year, which I did expect. Originally I really wanted it to be online for several reasons, but now it actually is I do feel a bit down about it. Maybe because we missed out on the opportunity to do Second's Out last year, and now we're missing this I feel we've lost a hugely important part of our education. I'm planning on having a lot of involvement in how the photographs of my work are taken, so maybe that will make me feel like I got something back...


*sometimes I feel like people can't cope with original ideas. If you haven't copied it from some other artist, apparently it's not worth looking at.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Life After University

With the line of work I was hoping to go into, I was starting to panic- degrees don't mean as much as they used to, and all businesses seemed to want was experience. I DONT HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE! Howeve

It begins

All assessments are in and we wait patiently for the marking gods to decide. This year isn't exactly what I would expect from my third year at Uni- our time in the studio was severely depleted, obstac

What An Amazing Week!

This is the first time I took the site public, apart from showing Jane when we had to make it for our project, and I was so nervous. But everyone has been so lovely about everything that I have been w

bottom of page